Nerd habits rub off

8 02 2009

I was never much of a comic book guy. The one childhood experience with comics I remember is reading a compendium of Archie I read while accompanying my dad to court; he was testifying against some dude that stole his car.  Needless to say I was too young to appreciate the delicate assiness of the judicial process and spent my time with Jughead.

Over the last few weeks, I’ve become interested in seeing what’s out there (as far as “cream of the crop” goes), and I’ve discovered I probably should have gotten at least halfway into this shit a long time ago.  Last year on vacation I read Marjane Satrapi’s Persepolis books, which I enjoyed.  Then seeing the Dark Knight (and Batman Begins) again on DVD, I decided to check out some of the comics that informed the character-driven darkness of those movies.  So I picked up Batman: Year One, The Killing Joke, and The Dark Knight Returns.  Of the three, I think the Killing Joke probably impressed me the most from an art standpoint, while the other two had far more twisted and engaging stories.  Nevertheless, I decided to check out more Alan Moore–and what better way than Watchmen, right?  I stayed up until 4am finishing that one.

Simultaneously, I decided to check out some of the manga behind the movies and series I’ve enjoyed in the past, starting with Shirow Masamune’s Ghost in the Shell, Volume 1. It was OK, but honestly I think it kind of drops the reader into the world and its jargon without a whole lot of exposition or priming.  I guess the brainfuck was kind of what he was going for, but still…

I also got Zombies vs. Robots based on the title alone. The art style actually is pretty great. (imho)

Anyway. Now I suppose it’s only a few short months until I’m watching Battlestar Galactica or some shit.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

